Six Outstanding Local Fundraisers Honoured With Giving Hearts Awards

On November 15, the Vancouver Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) will present the annual Giving Hearts Awards at its National Philanthropy Day Luncheon.
Six AFP Giving Hearts Awards will be presented, to the following recipients:

• Outstanding Philanthropist — Asa Johal
• Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser — Anita Law
• Outstanding Youth Philanthropist — Sukhmeet Sachal
• Outstanding Fundraising Professional — Vivian Smith
• Outstanding Large Corporation — VanCity Credit Union
• Outstanding Small Corporation — Thomas Hobbs Florist

The Giving Hearts Awards (GHA) program was introduced in 2007 by the Vancouver chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals. “The awards provide an excellent opportunity to recognize the organizations and the individual philanthropists, leaders and volunteers that make outstanding contributions of time and financial support to the non-profit community,” explains AFP Vancouver chapter president Giovanni Festa. “Vancouver has such a strong philanthropic community. It’s our privilege to shine the spotlight on a stellar group of people and organizations.”

The Outstanding Philanthropist for 2011 was Dr. Djavad Mowafaghian, nominated by Children’s Hospital, who enthusiastically supports the spirit of the Giving Hearts Awards.

More than 700 individuals from Lower Mainland nonprofit organizations, businesses and corporations will celebrate the 15th anniversary of National Philanthropy Day (NPD) at the Vancouver Convention Centre luncheon. The event honours outstanding donors, volunteers, corporations, small businesses, youth in philanthropy and others in recognition of their efforts to improve their communities and their world every day.

The luncheon’s keynote speaker is former NHL All-Star and Olympian and dedicated community supporter Trevor Linden. It will be emceed by Dawn Chubai, the Live Eye host at Citytv’s Breakfast Television. The event is a celebration not just of the Giving Hearts Awards recipients, but of all the nominees for their outstanding dedication to making a positive impact in their community.