Province names Audit Council members

VICTORIA – Five British Columbians have been named to the Audit Council overseeing the Auditor General for Local Government (AGLG), ensuring the independence of the office, announced Ida Chong, minister of Community, Sport and Culture.

The installation of the Audit Council is a crucial step toward establishing the autonomy of the AGLG. The Audit Council’s first task will be to make a recommendation to the minister as to who should be appointed Auditor General for Local Government.

The Audit Council will also be responsible for monitoring the performance of the AGLG by reviewing and providing comments on performance audits, annual reports and service plans. It will also disseminate information about recommendations made by the AGLG.

The council is comprised of a broad mix of professionals from different parts of British Columbia with backgrounds in accounting, law, finance, business and local government. The five members appointed today are Anthony Ariganello (chair), J. Richard Heney, Donalda MacDonald, Lisa Payne and Timothy J. Wood.