Best Film Award to Punjab 1984 at PTC Punjabi Film Awards



Sky lights up, stars dazzle on night of March 17 in Mohali at PTC Punjabi Film Awards


A bright sunny day and a Star studded night, that was Tuesday, March 17.

As Bollywood and Punjabi stars alighted on the red carpet, dhol and cheering fans greeted them into the biggest Punjabi spectacle awaited with baited breath all year round. Rajiee M Shinde, CEO and Director, PTC Network, and Rabindra Narayan, President and Director, PTC Network, greeted the biggest Bollywood and Pollywood stars in the industry, including Bobby Deol, Sonu Sood, Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Huma  Qureshi, Poonam Dhillon, Gauhar Khan, Zarine Khan, Rahul Dev,  Mukesh Rishi, Pawan Malhotra, Rashmi and the entire array of Punjabi stars , as they walked the red carpet. The trio anchors Sonu Sood, Diljit Doasanjh and Binnu Dhillon made sure that a packed audience of over 10,000 stayed put right till the end.

Shinde announced that the red carpet event would be telecast on March 27 and the Awards on Saturday, March 28 in India, USA, Canada, Europe, Australia and New Zealand.

Rabindra Narayan, President PTC Network stated that as a first, these awards are being recorded in high definition and the viewers will themselves notice the immense and welcome difference in the quality of the telecast.

PTC Punjabi Film Awards are truly leading the Punjabi film industry. Energetic dancers kicked off the show, followed by a performance by Nav Bajwa and Apoorva Arora on Bollywood Punjabi numbers.  Bobby Deol said he was happy to be in Punjab, and also announced production of a Punjabi film under Vijeta Productions. The crowds swooned and cheered to scintillating moves and gyrations of the vivacious Surveen Chawla as she danced to Aaaj Phir Tumpe and Disco Singh title track. The ceremonial lamp was lit by Bobby Deol, Shinde and Narayan. Gauhar Khan, all set to make her debut in the Punjabi film industry, showcased a scintillating performance on a medley of Bollywood numbers.

During the Awards, the jersey of Celebrity Cricket League Punjab Team was also unveiled.

As a credit to the legend, Kulbhushan Kharbanda was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award as the entire audience stood up in his honour.

As Sukhwinder took centre stage to perform to his latest hit numbers,  he called Bobby as well and they talked jointly about their upcoming Venture Ramta Jogi. Neeru Bajwa performed a romantic medley along with Roshan Prince and Jassi Gill. The audience stood up as Gurdas Ji was honoured with as “Special Star Forever Award.”  Another special “Family Film Award” was awarded to Dil Vil Pyar Vyar. The film on the drug abuse menace in Punjab “Baaz” was honoured as the “Film with a Social Message.” A special recognition award was also given to Harry Baweja.

Next was the turn of Gippy Grewal thrilled the audience as he performed to hit Punjabi numbers including numbers from Jatt and James Bond. Roshan Prince and Harish Verma launched the theatrical of their upcoming film “Gun and Goal.” Last but not the least, the anchors, Diljit, Sonu and Binnu, performed and showed the audience their Bhangra moves. As a special variation, the next few categories were announced by Roshan Prince and Harish Verma.

The show concluded on a celebratory mode with fireworks in the sky concluding a six-hour-long extravaganza and leaving audiences gasping for more.

Watch out for the telecast on March 27 and 28!



WINNERS – PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2015


Best Background Score – Raju Singh for “Punjab 1984”

Best Editing – Sandeep Francis for “Jatt James Bond“

Best Story – Jas Grewal for “Jatt James Bond”

Best Cinematography – Anshul Chobey for “Punjab 1984”

Best Screenplay – Amberdeep Singh for “Goreyan Nu Daffa Karo“

Best Dialogue – Anurag Singh / Amberdeep Singh for “Disco Singh“

Best Lyricist – Kumaar for “Sooraj” from the film “Mundeyan Ton Bachke Rahin” And Raj Ranjodh For “Swah Banke” from the film “Punjab 1984”

Best Music Director – Gurmeet Singh / Jatinder Shah / Nick Dhammu / Gurmoh for “Punjab 1984” and Jatinder Shah for “Disco Singh”

Best Female Playback Singer – Harshdeep Kaur for “Lori” from the film “Punjab 1984”

Best Male Playback Singer
- Feroz Khan for “Hathan Vich” from the film “Mr & Mrs 420”

Most Popular Song of the year – Chandi Di Dabbi from “Jatt James Bond” and Happy Birthday from “Disco Singh”

Best Performance in a Comic Role – B N Sharma for “Disco Singh”

Best Performance in a Negative Role – Pavan Malhotra for “Punjab 1984”

Best Supporting Actress – Upasna Singh for “Disco Singh”

Best Supporting Actor
- Binnu Dhillon for “Mr & Mrs 420” and Yashpal Sharma For “Jatt James Bond”

Best Debut (Female) – Zarine Khan for “Jatt James Bond”

Best Debut (Male) – Jassi Gill for “Mr & Mrs 420”

Best Debut Director – Rohit Jugraj for “Jatt James Bond”

Best Director – Rohit Jugraj for “Jatt James Bond”

Best Actress – Surveen Chawla for “Disco Singh”

Best Actor – Diljit Dosanjh for “Punjab 1984” and Gippy Grewal for “Jatt James Bond”

Best Film – Punjab 1984

Critics Award for Best Actress – Kirron Kher for “Punjab 1984”

Critics Award for Best Director – Anurag Singh for “Punjab 1984”

Lifetime Achievement Award
- Kulbhushan Kharbanda Ji

Star Forever Award – Gurdas Mann for “Dil Vil Pyaar Vyaar”

Family Film of the Year Award – Manjeet Mann for “Dil Vil Pyaar Vyaar”

Special Recognition Award – Poonam Dhillon for “Double Di Trouble”

Special Recognition Award – Chaar Sahibzaade

Film with a Social Message – Baaz